Let Me Introduce Myself

How do I introduce myself? Let’s see here. I guess my name is usually a good place to start. My name is Karen. My blog is named kayrayiam because Kayray is my nickname dubbed by my one and only sister Cindy or Cyndi as she likes to spell herself. I will probably not punctuate my sentences correctly so if this happens to bother you then you may not want to read my blog. I am originally from China Grove, North Carolina and now live in the big city of Salisbury also in North Carolina. I am in my forties. I am very much a woman even though I get called sir too much for my personal liking. This happens on the phone and in person. I like to think of myself as more androgynous. I still like things that are feminine and can still put on some make up but I prefer men’s clothes, scents, shoes, and even topics of conversations. I have always had a deeper alto tone to my voice and I guess this is the reason for the mistaken identity on the phone but with a name like Karen, it doesn’t last for long. My voice is a gift and I love to sing and have sang publicly many times in my life. I wouldn’t say it is ever easy but it’s doable. I love music and music is a huge part of who I am. I love beauty and can see it all around me in an array of things art, nature, people, architecture, in the biggest things like the stars at night, in the smallest things like a humming bird. I love to surround myself with beauty. I have many art pieces in my home. I have pottery and old pieces of furniture. I have expensive taste in things and this gets me into trouble sometimes. I also am intrigued with technology. I wouldn’t say I’m a techno geek however. I like cars, old cars to be exact and old houses and history. I really do believe that old things really are the best but modern convenience is nice too. I see myself as an old soul and have always had interest in things that are historical. Science, medicine, politics, human rights, animal rights, women’s rights, music, art, antiques, interior design, psychology, sports especially pro football and college basketball, travel, photography, genetics, guns, pop culture, religions and the list goes on. It all intrigues my mind. I tend to go to extremes on anything and everything. I read in excess. I’m always reading a book or working on one of my own. I have written poetry since I was young and will probably share some of that on here.

I am a Registered Nurse and I am a Travel Nurse. This is a job where you work for a travel company that finds hospitals and all other healthcare institutions, nurses and other healthcare staff, when they are in need. I sign a contract after I have interviewed and been offered a job by the hospital or wherever and the contract is usually anywhere from 4-13 weeks in length. I am not married and I don’t have any human children but I do have 5 from the animal kingdom. I have 4 dogs and a bearded dragon(that’s a lizard for those of you who don’t know). My Mom and Dad have been divorced since I was 7 years old. I had a Stepfather but he passed away it has been at least 16 years ago. He’s the one my mom left my dad and us for. Since my Dad is no longer married to my Evil Stepmonster and hasn’t been since I was 15. I don’t consider her part of my life anymore but unfortunately for me and my sister she will never be completely gone out of our nightmares. From that marriage I had two stepbrothers. One of them will still speak to me and one won’t. That’s life though and it’s his loss. This is all getting a little too personal of a subject for me so let’s keep it light, in the intro anyway.

I believe in life you are always learning and I have plans to go back to school and get my F.N.P.  or maybe even do G.N.P. eventually. For those not well versed in titles that would be Family Nurse Practitioner or Geriatric Nurse Practitioner. I would love to do missions work and have done it locally but I want to do it internationally.

I have a wild and crazy thought process and my mind is constantly going. Getting it out in words is a healthy process for me to do but sometimes it may not make as much sense to others as it did to me in my head. I am very open minded and tend to be able to see things from opposite ends of the spectrum at the same time. I have in my life been a very religious person and I’ve not been. I have passionate views on things and tend to speak my mind on subjects that other people are scared to talk about. I have a vast amount of interests. I hate boring and love being an original. There’s only one like me because the world couldn’t handle two. I have a roommate who is also my best friend and not with benefits. I do believe in “soul mates” and “twin flames” and I don’t believe I’ve found mine yet. I love animals and I can’t stand to see them be mistreated. Yes, I cry every time those commercials come on. Though normally I am not a very emotional person. I love travel and want to eventually explore the world. I weigh more than I should and I’m working on that. I love to eat rich and indulgent food. I don’t like to exercise and can be somewhat lazy. Thus the extra weight. I am a master of procrastination but I’m working on that. I have a lot of aquantinances but few close friends. I am a very private person and don’t feel that everything in my life is everyone else’s business. I do not have a Facebook account for this reason. In this day and age of reality television I realize that being a private person is a rareity. I don’t like drama and will run as far as I can away from it. I have had only two serious relationships in my life. As I said before my private life is my private life. I’m not a hugger or a touchy feely kind of person and never have been. I definately don’t do PDA, public displays of affection. Though I’m a sensualist at heart. I think this is a lot due to how I was raised. I was raised mostly by my Dad and the only woman I had in my life for a long time was my Grandma. My Grandma was my rock and only stable person in my childhood. She was also not a very feminine woman. She wore plaid flannel shirts, jeans, and carried a wallet in her back pocket but she also did dress up and put on a dress and makeup to go to the Kingdom Hall on Sunday’s and on Saturdays to go “Witnessing” my dad’s family were J. W.’s, Jehovahs Witness. My moms dad was a ordained Methodist minister that was the pastor of a Baptist church. Guess you can figure out quite quickly that I have been exposed to many different beliefs. None of which I think hold all the answers, by the way. Guess my religious beliefs could be classified as “it’s complicated”. That is truly enough about me now.

The reason I wanted to start a blog is honestly even though I can talk someone’s ear off after I get to know them and people don’t often believe me. I don’t do well in crowds of people or with people I don’t know. I am a closet introvert. Amongst all the other skeletons I’m shoving back in there as we speak. With that being said, Welcome to my blog. I hope you enjoy my sarcastic take on life and more often than not, a little morbid. Nice to meet you.

3 thoughts on “Let Me Introduce Myself

  1. Hi Karen, thanks for following my blog. My late sister Beth was a travel nurse, and she loved it. She started when her kids were grown and would take off whenever she wanted to someplace new and different. When she died, I recommended that we strap her ashes onto a freight train, but nobody took me seriously.

    I look forward to getting to know you!

    Like

    1. I always tell my mom, sister and friends that when I die I want them to carry my urn around with them and put butterfingers, snickers, and cheerwine(it’s a Salisbury thing)in my urn with me. Seriously though I think that the freight train would be cooler.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

